Working with Roger Vadim…

ROGER VADIM & CINDY PICKETTNIGHTGAMES

My ever first encounter in filmmaking was working with Roger Vadim as an assistant hairstylist for the film “Nightgames” in 1979 -1980, the filming were done in one house in Manila and I assisted Graham Oxley who was then one of the senior hairdressers from Rever Salon Mandarin Hotel.

I remember the unforgettable laugh of Joanna Cassidy, who I think became famous as one of the replicant in “Blade Runner” starring Harrison Ford, unfortunately, there was no iPhone yet to capture what was happening around, but I remember the filming of the party scene with Mr. Vadim in white t-shirt, short, and hat giving instructions to everyone, there were lots of people around and the ambience, the crowd, laughter, and the big camera in front of them stayed in my mind, and I remember them as if it was yesterday.

And from that time on, I said to myself that “this is what I want to do for the rest of my life” …

After 3 days of filming and getting used to the ambiance and all, I went back to work and bought my first camera, it was the Kodak Instamatic and started taking pictures of my family, friends and loved ones. To be able to raise capital on my new found expensive hobby, because of developing charges, I started taking pictures of my friends and started charging them as well just to pay for developing the photos.

From Instamatic camera, I then invested on a 16mm projector and started buying film rolls and learned how to splice them and put them together again,  the smell of the film rolls and the effects of the splicing on the white screen  injected a magical feeling of accomplishments, after getting used to splicing films, I then bought my first DLSR camera which was a Nikon F2.

And that is another story and the rest was history.

2 thoughts on “Working with Roger Vadim…

Leave a Reply

